REVIEW OF ‘HER LAST SECRET’ BY BARBARA COPPERTHWAITE

5 STARS *****

Published by Bookouture on 13th October 2017

THE BLURB:

Some secrets you can never tell.

Everyone thinks the Thomases are the perfect family: grand London house, gorgeous kids.

They don’t know wife Dominique is a paranoid wreck.

They don’t know husband Ben is trapped in a web of deceit.

They don’t know daughter Ruby lives in fear of the next abusive text.

But someone knows all their secrets.

Can the lies that bind them tear them apart?

This dark, gripping psychological thriller will have you holding your breath until the very last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Gone Girl, and The Girl on the Train will be captivated.

MY REVIEW:

Barbara Copperthwaite skilfully weaves a tangled and relentless web of a family’s secrets and lies and doesn’t stop until the reader is dizzy with possibilities about who is up to what.

The horrific scene at the beginning casts its terrible shadow over the entire book and the author compounds this by reminding us, periodically, of the awful carnage to come as she leads us through a most dreadful week before Christmas. This makes for a nervy, tense read as one becomes fond of certain characters (particularly Mouse!), it’s unbearable to imagine who may or may not perish at the end of the book.

The excellent characterisation had me rooting for some and loathing others. I was fascinated by Benjamin’s deviant life and awful secret.

HER LAST SECRET is a confidently written, flowing novel with a steadily building tension and a dark undercurrent that kept me turning the pages to the very end. Recommended!