REVIEW OF ‘LIES’ BY TM LOGAN

 

5 stars *****

Ebook published by Twenty7 (Bonnier Zaffre) on 17th January 2017

lies

WHAT IF YOUR WHOLE LIFE WAS BASED ON LIES?

A gripping new psychological thriller of secrets and revenge, perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Tom Bale

When Joe Lynch stumbles across his wife driving into a hotel car park while she’s supposed to be at work, he’s intrigued enough to follow her in.

And when he witnesses her in an angry altercation with family friend Ben, he knows he ought to intervene.

But just as the confrontation between the two men turns violent, and Ben is knocked unconscious, Joe’s young son has an asthma attack – and Joe must flee in order to help him.

When he returns, desperate to make sure Ben is OK, Joe is horrified to find that Ben has disappeared.

And that’s when Joe receives the first message . . .

Gripping, unputdownable and packed with twists and turns from the first page to the very last, this stunning thriller will make you question whether we can ever really trust the ones we love . . .

*****

I’ve just finished reading TM Logan’s outstanding and very well-written debut psychological thriller, ‘LIES’. Frankly, I have to say, it’s a relief to have finished it. The book was so gripping I genuinely found it hard to put down to the extent it interfered with my own writing schedule as I shunned my laptop in favour of keeping those pages turning!

I enjoyed reading from a male protagonist’s point of view. Joe could be infuriating at times and as the reader I often wanted to shake him. But then that was also part of his endearing qualities and made him more believable. After all, this is a guy who has worked as a teacher all his career and has lived a very ordinary life, devoted to his family.

All the characters were well-developed and although not all were likeable, they were very believable. The storyline raises some valid and important issues about technology and social media that made me think.

What I liked most of all about the book is that it is a consistent domestic thriller; my favourite sort. It doesn’t deviate into a high-octane thriller and become something else.

The tension builds towards the end and I certainly did not expect the final twist which was a thrilling conclusion.

I absolutely recommend this book!